To NaNo or not to NaNo

To NaNo or not to NaNo…

Well, it is almost November again, another 5 weeks, and I cannot make up my mind about doing NaNoWriMo.

I did it last year and finished a first draft of 50 000 words, and then I did Camp NaNo in April, also finishing with 50 000 words for another first draft.

I’m just not sure what to do this time around. The two I did were ideas I’d had in my mind for a long time and outlined pretty well, mentally at least.

The first was a time-travel/ woman’s fiction novel involving two things I’ve loved for ages, the 1920s, and Rudolph Valentino. It was great fun writing it. The second, was another book I’ve had in my head for ages, since 2002 actually. I’d written drafts of it previously but thrown them all out and started over for NaNo. This time I got a good first draft done. Alas, both projects need major work. I am also re-writing another book I wrote years ago, and querying my novel In Absentia.

Still, I am tempted to try NaNo again this November.

I seem to on occasion suffer from ‘head fullness’, when I get different ideas for different projects. It makes it hard to concentrate on what I’m working on, because other stories are in there too, demanding to be written down.

That’s not really the case right now, because of the two previous projects, so maybe now would be a good time to concentrate on working on those, and save the vague ideas for other books for Camp NaNo in April.

Well, looks like I answered my own question!

Thanks blog! They do say writing clears the head!

Leave a Reply

