Its raining – rejections

I’ve had a bit of a tough week on my quest to have my book published. Every writer who’s trying to go the traditional publishing route knows that when you sent your query letter of to an agent there is a high chance of it being rejected. This week, after 2 weeks of no responses to any of my queries, I got four rejections.
Rejections usually, at least with me, lead to dejection. You don’t want someone to tell you that what you’ve written and what you have poured your heart and soul into is not good enough for them. Even if you try to keep it in perspective. There are after all thousands of writers who have written books, all looking for agents. There is no way that every writer who’s ever written a book will find an agent. Still, when you open your email and you see yet another form letter telling you that unfortunately your book is ‘not quite right for my list’ orΒ  ‘unfortunately not what we’re looking for at this time’ it’s difficult.
But unfortunately that is just the nature of this stage in the journey to get a book published. It’s a journey full of ups and downs.
The best thing you can do is just carry on. If the rejections stack up maybe looking at your query letter is a good idea. As for me, I will wait to see what happens with a few queries I still have out. If I continue to get rejection that’s what I will do, redo my query letter again. But of course I’m hoping that won’t be necessary. I do have a full out now with an agent based on my current query letter, so I’ll wait and see what happens with that. Fingers crossed!

4 thoughts on “Its raining – rejections

  1. I hate the rejections, and I keep having to reality check by reminding myself that I am not alone in this. Why is it so easy to believe that our own work is worthless and so difficult to accept that maybe, just maybe, what we have written is GOOD? ! I wanted to just say that you are NOT alone with this, I have had two in the last week. I am going down the self published route as well as still seeking representation. It feels more pro-active. Also have you checked out the THIS MORNING competition that has just been launched? Are you in the UK? If you are in the UK, go to the website and check it out….worth a go!! πŸ™‚ Keep positive and don’t let the nagging voices of negativity shout too loud! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for your lovely comment! It’s always good to be reminded that we are not alone in this. I used to live in the UK a long time ago, so I’m familiar with This Morning. It seems like a great contest. Too bad I’m not eligible. Are you going to participate?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

