NaNoWriMo result

So here is my NaNoWriMo experience: As I said I decided pretty late, literally the last day to even participate . This meant pretty much no prep. It went surprisingly well all things considered. I used some characters from a previous novel and the base of their story to work into a whole new novel. I finished NaNoWriMo early, on November 24th with 50080 words.
I did make use of a speech program since typing is sometimes difficult for me. I think that probably helped me some. This story went pretty well, but of course this is just the first draft. I still have another four or five thousand words to go before I reach the end of the story. Then its back to chapter 1, word 1 for revision. I have a pretty good idea now how everything is going to turn out, and while the story needs straightening up and characters need fleshing out I hope to be done with this book as a whole within a month or two. I’m determined not to let the story end up like my 2 earlier NaNoWriMo stories. They sit in a computer file untouched since the end of NaNoWriMo. I will get to them eventually, at least I plan to. I just didn’t have the energy or the time to go back to make revisions and work on those stories. I like them, they both have good bones, but somehow I didn’t feel about them the way I feel about this one. This one I really want to finish and polish. It seems like the other two story were more rough ideas that I felt the need to write down, where as this novel wants to be finished. So I’ll try my very best to finish it!

Leave a Reply

