#pitmad time again

Tomorrow is another #pitmad event on Twitter. In case you don’t know what that is, it’s an event where you pitch your novel in 140 characters or less, using the #pitmad along with your genre. Agents and publishers read them and if they favorite your novel it means they want you to query them.

Here is a link with further information:

http://www.brenda-drake.com/pitmad/

I’ve had mixed results with #pitmad myself. I’ve had several favorites, but a couple of them turned out to be from questionable sources. It’s important to research anyone who favorites you, because there are a lot of scammers out there.

I did have a couple of legitimate requests but nothing came of them. One wrote a personalized rejection which was nice, a couple were standard form rejections, and one did not reply at all. (Yes, that stung a little…What can you do?)

Tomorrow is another chance and I’m hopeful to get requests. If not, it’s still a great chance to meet other writers!

One last tip, if you read a pitch you like, don’t favorite it. Clicking favorite is the agent/publishers way of letting the writer know they want them to submit. Instead retweet the pitch! It’s a great way to support your fellow writers as well.

One thought on “#pitmad time again

  1. Hi there 🙂
    It was great to meed you yesterday on the #WritePit hashtag. Always good meeting other people enthusiastic of the 1920s.

    I’ve been taking part to twitter parties since I finished my novel last January and I have mixed feeling about them. I like the energy of the event, I like meeting fellow writers. I like the support.
    As for the opportunity… I don’t know. I too had a personal rejection which was very nice and a couple standard forms. I got quite a few small publishers requesting… but I’m not going down that path at the moment, I’m seeking an agent. Alll in all, nothing really came out of it other than meeting fellow writers.
    So I’m a bit on the fence about these parties. On the one hand, I don’t feel like passing the opportunity entirely, on the other, I’m not sure there is an opportunity here.

    What’s your take at it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

